Ally Training Program

The UA Safe Zone Ally Training Program provides a visible network of allies for lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans, queer, and asexual (LGBTQIA+) individuals. Safe Zone Allies distribute information regarding sexuality, gender identity, campus and community resources, and methods for reporting harassment and/or discrimination.

The Safe Zone Ally Training Program is a two-hour virtual training session that allows participants to:

  • develop a working knowledge of appropriate and respectful LGBTQIA+ terminology;
  • recognize the impact that a negative campus climate has on individuals who identify as LGBTQIA+; and
  • identify areas of personal growth as a member of the UA community.

Dates

Wednesday, Feb. 9

3-5 p.m.

Thursday, Feb. 24

3-5 p.m.

Tuesday, March 8

9-11 a.m.

Tuesday, March 22

3-5 p.m.

Friday, April 1

9-11 a.m.

Monday, April 25

3-5 p.m.

Wednesday, May 11

9-11 a.m.

Friday, June 3

1-3 p.m.

Thursday, June 16

9-11 a.m.

Wednesday, July 13

1-3 p.m.

Tuesday, July 26

9-11 a.m.

Registration is required.

Following the training program, participants are invited to sign up to serve as UA Safe Zone Allies.


Questions?

If you have questions about the Ally Training program, contact the Safe Zone Resource Center at 205-348-7297 or SafeZone@sa.ua.edu.