The Division of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion works with several committees and groups as part of its mission.

President’s Advisory Council on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

This committee was charged with advancing specific plans and strategies, as well as proposing solutions with measurable objectives to accomplish the third goal of the University’s strategic plan. The third goal aims to enrich the campus learning and work environments by providing an accepting, inclusive community that attracts and supports a diverse faculty, staff and student body. The committee produced the Path Forward Diversity Report, and a progress update was released in May 2021.

Dr. G. Christine Taylor
Committee Chair Vice President and Associate Provost for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Robert Baxter
2019-2021 Professional Staff Assembly President

Dr. André Denham
2019-2020 Black Faculty and Staff Association President 

Dr. Rona Donahoe
2019-2021 Faculty Senate President

Matt Fajack
Vice President for Finance and Operations

Demarcus Joiner
2019-2020 SGA Vice President for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion / 2020-2021 Student Government Association President

Dr. Stacy Jones
Associate Dean of Students/Interim Dean of Students

Layne Lightfoot
Honors College Student Representative

Dr. LeNá McDonald
Director of Internal Affairs and UA System Liaison, President’s Office

Angel Narvaez-Lugo
2019-2021 Office, Clerical & Technical Staff Assembly President

Chad Tindol
Chief Administrative Officer

Dr. Kevin Whitaker
Executive Vice President and Provost (prior to Aug. 1, 2020)

Harrison Adams
2019-2020 Student Government Association President

Learn more about the President's Advisory Committee for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Academic Diversity Council

The Council, commonly referred to as the ADC, includes a representative from each college and school at the University, all of whom have their own diversity committee. The specific tasks for those committees varies for a given year; however, recruitment of faculty, climate issues, student success and DEI education are part of each committee’s tasks and goals. Each month the members share information about the work of their college/school’s committee on diversity and inclusion and hear updates from the Division of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion.

Dr. Utz McKnight
College of Arts & Sciences

Dr. Wanda Burton
Capstone College of Nursing

Mary Meares
Dr. Mary Meares
College of Communication and Information Sciences

Kirsten Henry
Dr. Kirsten Henry
College of Community Health Sciences

Dr. Stephanie Shelton
College of Education

Sandra Pettit
Dr. Sandy Pettit
College of Engineering

Erin Sanders
College of Human Environmental Sciences

Dr. James King
Culverhouse College of Business

Dr. André Denham
Graduate School

Dr. Luoheng Han
Honors College

Anil Mujumdar
Law School

Emily Decker
Emily Decker
University Libraries

Shalya Smith
School of Social Work

Task Force on the History of Slavery, Race, and Civil Rights

This committee’s work, in part, focuses on the campus climate and scholarly work to study the university’s relationship with slavery and its legacies. Transparency around the institution’s racial history is a key aspect of building a more welcoming and inclusive campus environment.

Dr. G. Christine Taylor
Vice President/Associate Provost, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, Convener

Dr. George Daniels
Associate Professor, Department of Journalism and Creative Media

Dr. John Giggie
Associate Professor, Department of History

Martha Griffith
Martha Griffith
Director of Special Projects, President’s Office

Dr. Joshua Rothman
Chair, Department of History

Dr. Jenny Shaw
Associate Professor, Department of History

Cassie Smith
Dr. Cassie Smith
Associate Dean, Honors College

Dr. Rachel Stephens 
Associate Professor of Art History, American Art and Architecture