University of Alabama Employee Resource Groups

The UA Division of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion supports many employee resource groups at UA and invites members of the campus community to learn more about these organizations.


Black Faculty and Staff Association

http://bfsa.ua.edu/

blackfsa@ua.edu

Q&A with BFSA President Chad Jackson

The University of Alabama’s Black Faculty & Staff Association, also known as BFSA, was established in the early 1970s with a mission to serve as an advocate for educational equity, with emphasis on African American students and the professional needs of its members. The Association meets each month during the regular school calendar year. The Association remains committed to working with the U.A. System and University leaders to make sure that UA is pursuing equity and excellence for the entire campus community. Membership in the Black Faculty and Staff Association (BFSA) is open to all faculty members and staff employed at The University of Alabama regardless of religion, age, race or color, marital status, national origin, disability, or sexual orientation.

Officers

Chad Jackson
Chad Jackson
Cassandra Simon
Shenise Lee
Shenise Lee
Cynthia Moore
Lisa Young

Chad L. Jackson, President
Contracts, Invoice, Analytics Specialist
College of Continuing Studies DEI Council, Chair
cljackson12@ua.edu

Cassandra Simon, Vice President
Associate Professor, Social Work
csimon@sw.ua.edu

Shenise Lee, Secretary
Team Leader, Custodial Services
slee139@ua.edu

Cynthia Moore, Treasurer
Assistant Director Rural Scholars Program
cmoore@ua.edu

Lisa Young, Parliamentarian
Academic Advisor II/Instructor/Prior Learning Coordinator
lisa.young@ua.edu


Capstone Alliance

http://capstonealliance.ua.edu/

Capstone Alliance is a campus organization for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, (LGBTQ+) and allied faculty, staff and graduate students at The University of Alabama. The group’s mission is to make The University of Alabama community safe, supportive and welcoming to all identities.

Officers

Russel Peterson
DJ Jackson
Holly Kennedy
Holly Kennedy

Russel Peterson, President-Elect
Assistant Professor-Librarian
University Libraries
rtpeterson1@ua.edu

DJ Jackson, Ambassador
Undergraduate Scholarship Manager
Undergraduate Admissions and Scholarships
davis.jackson@ua.edu

Holly Kennedy, Secretary
Police Officer
University of Alabama Police Department
hkennedy@uapd.ua.edu

Jair Lizarazo-Adarme, Treasurer
Research engineer/adjunct faculty
Chemical and Biological Engineering
lizar001@eng.ua.edu

Cassandra Williamson
Ambassador
cassandraleighwilliamson@gmail.com


Chinese Faculty and Staff Association

The mission of the Chinese Faculty and Staff Association is to support, celebrate and empower Chinese faculty and staff by fostering a community that provides opportunities for networking, communication and growth — both personal and professional. For more information, call Jialai Wang at 205-348-6786.

Executive Committee

Jialai Wang
Di Luo
Aijun Song
Michelle Tong
Qin Wang
Shan Zhao

Jialai Wang, President
Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering
jwang@eng.ua.edu

Di Luo
Assistant Professor
Department of History
dluo10@ua.edu

Aijun Song
Assistant Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering
song@eng.ua.edu

Michelle Tong
Associate Professor
Department of Clothing, Textile, & Interior Design
mtong@ches.ua.edu

Qin Wang
Associate Professor of Statistics
Department of Information Systems, Statistics, and Management Science
qwang57@ua.edu

Shan Zhao
Professor
Department of Mathematics
szhao@ua.edu


Jewish Faculty and Staff Association

The JFSA was formed with three broad priorities: to advocate for Jewish faculty, staff and graduate students at The University of Alabama; to serve as a “clearinghouse” for those who self-identify as Jews and who seek opportunities to form, create or sustain meaningful social and/or spiritual communities on that basis; and to work with other affinity groups and faith traditions toward a campus that is open, inclusive and welcoming to all. 

Officers

Daniel Levine
Daniel Levine
Murray Silverstone
Lisa Besnoy
Sarah Sahn

Daniel Levine, President
Aaron Aronov Associate Professor of Judaic Studies
Departments of Political Science and Religious Studies
daniel.j.levine@ua.edu

Murray Silverstone, Vice President
Assistant Professor
Department of Physics
mdsilverstone@ua.edu

Lisa Besnoy, Treasurer
Graduate Student and Program Director, Bama Hillel
lisa.besnoy@gmail.com

Sarah Sahn, Secretary
Assistant Professor, Research and Instructional Services Librarian
University of Alabama Libraries
sfsahn@ua.edu


Latinx Faculty and  Staff Association

The purpose of this organization shall be as an advocate for educational, professional and community equity, with emphasis on Latino/a/x faculty, staff, students and the Latino/a/x community in greater Alabama. In the accomplishment of this general purpose, the organization shall promote and provide opportunities for networking among individuals and groups to articulate mutual concerns and advance educational opportunity.

Officers

Jaime Garza
Jaime Garza
Jimmy Hart
Wanda Naranjo
Alex Benitez
Angel Narvaez-Lugo

Jaime M. Garza, President
Coordinator, Recovery Services
Collegiate Recovery and Intervention Services
jgarza@ua.edu

Jimmy Hart, Vice President
Director of Marketing
Strategic Communications
jimmy.hart@ua.edu

Wanda Naranjo, Treasurer
Program Assistant
School of Social Work
wonaranjo@ua.edu

Alex Benitez, Secretary
Director
Moundville Archaeological Park
avbenitez@ua.edu

Angel Narvaez-Lugo, Parliamentarian
Program Assistant
Student Government Association
aonarvaezlugo@ua.edu